Royal Opera, new Eugene Onegin, 2024

oncnp

I went to the opening of Eugene Onegin last night and thought it was abject all round - from staging (or lack thereof), direction (the choices made in the letter scene and duel were infuriating) to the singing.

I was very disappointed, this being my favourite opera. 

• Thanks 2

Oh dear :( 

The amount of money the Royal Opera must have wasted on productions of EO over the years must be horrendous.  I was an opera newbie when I went to see it in maybe 1994, but didn't see anything wrong with that production.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, MildConcern said:

I went to the opening of Eugene Onegin last night and thought it was abject all round - from staging (or lack thereof), direction (the choices made in the letter scene and duel were infuriating) to the singing.

I was very disappointed, this being my favourite opera. 

I'm going to bleat my usual overused refrain of "bring back the nice old production that the Royal Opera used to have which we all liked!" for Eugene Onegjn as well.

Not the strange Kaspar Holten one they just ditched, no. I mean the 1971 Peter Hall one that Thomas Allen sang in, with designs by Julia Trevelyan Oman (who designed RB's Nutcracker) that they used until 1993..am sure there's lots of notes, sketches, recordings etc that they could use to revive it with. I'm getting a bit bored of all operas starting to look identical, darkly lit and minimalist - like an expensive recital. Or ugly and normcore!  Sorry to hear your favourite opera has turned out this way, MildConcern. 

Edited by Emeralds
  • Like 4

2 hours ago, alison said:

Oh dear :( 

The amount of money the Royal Opera must have wasted on productions of EO over the years must be horrendous.  I was an opera newbie when I went to see it in maybe 1994, but didn't see anything wrong with that production.

TBF the new production doesn't sound like a big-budget extravaganza.