Forms of address

Lizbie1

(Mod's note: This major digression into how to address people originally formed part of this thread:)

On 02/08/2024 at 15:25, FionaM said:

The modern adult working world consider Ms to be more appropriate. 

Well I'm part of the modern adult working world and I choose to go by Miss, as do many of my (often younger) colleagues. If others prefer to use Ms I'm very happy for them to do so but I would resent its imposition.

Edited by alison
  • Like 5

Just to provide a little more confusion (and entertainment), I opened my ballet school a few years after getting married and moving to DH's home town.  So I used my married name in the title of the school as it seemed simpler. The school went well and various pupils have been RBS Associates, including DD. If I was accompanying her to an event at RBS I was addressed as Mrs X.  However when I was attending purely as a teacher I was called Miss X!

• Like 3

With regard to Ms, Miss, Mrs etc, it is not a legal requirement for a woman to change her name on marriage.  As far as I know, I don't think it has been compulsory, although perhaps it was a long time ago.  But today it is personal choice by the woman, and should be her decision alone.    In fact I know several cases where the man changed his name to his wife's, either because she had a very unique name, or because he had a less desirable one.  I also know a couple of marriages which never took place because the woman refused to change her last name to his.  (The ladies were probably better off without those particular males in the first place in my opinion.....)

I couldn't care less if someone addresses me as Ms, Miss or Mrs.  Makes no difference at all to me.  But Ms is a recognised title, and has been for the last 40 odd years. 

• Like 3

20 minutes ago, Fonty said:

I couldn't care less if someone addresses me as Ms, Miss or Mrs.  Makes no difference at all to me.  But Ms is a recognised title, and has been for the last 40 odd years.