Unethical ballet teachers

A friend of mine has started ballet for the first time as an adult beginner.  Her teacher has asked her to perform in a show after a few weeks of lessons. She's dancing a solo from a ballet (I'm not sure which one but it's quite complex and at least a few minutes long). She sent me a video and not surprisingly her technique is absolutely incorrect all the way through. It got me thinking why do some ballet teachers encourage this?  If I learnt piano for the first time as an adult I wouldn't expect to perform Mozart on stage within a few weeks!

• Like 2

• Replies 96
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

A little while ago I went to a beginners adult ballet class. It was basically to get some exercise whilst doing something I love. I obviously didn't say I was an ex dancer/ teacher. I wasn't there to judge, just happy to be doing something active and local.
I was pretty shocked at the lack of understanding of the basic technique by the teacher tbh. and couldn't go back or endorse it further. The teacher wasn't  doing anything seriously wrong as such but she was missing out all of the basic elements such as use of the floor and the feet in tendu for example or use of turn out. What was being condoned was a very, very diluted form of Ballet which resulted in adults floating about doing not very much at all and certainly no idea of the basic elements or qualities of ballet.

The result was that everyone else in the class loved it ( from the conversations in the changing room afterwards) and believed they were doing ballet. As ballet is supposed to be enjoyable then maybe this hits the brief and gives people a chance to experience something similar to ballet.

But it's definitely not Ballet and with regards to adults en pointe it's a definite no from me.

• Like 8

3 hours ago, balletfanatic said:

Her teacher has asked her to perform in a show after a few weeks of lessons